Review: Rise by Anna Carey

RiseReview-01

GoodreadsButton

17 thoughts on “Review: Rise by Anna Carey

  1. This sounds like an exciting journey for Eve. There is a lot going on in this story as I’m sure the other two stories.I understand why many authors don’t write sequels. If too much time lapses, you forget the details of the earlier story which may or may not impact the story. Great review!

    • I wish publishing houses would wait until all books in a series are written and then release them all at once. It does really stink when you can’t remember much about the previous book because so much time has lapsed.

  2. I recently received all three of these books, so thank you for the warning that I should read them all all at one time. I hate when you read a book, but don’t have the chance to pick up the next one for another few months or even up to a year. Focused on the world? AND no love triangle? Wow, I’ll have to read these sooner than I thought!

    Lisa
    http://www.turningpages94.blogspot.com

    • It’s hard to even imagine a series without a love triangle isn’t it?! Haha. You don’t necessarily have to read them all back to back but I definitely suggest reading them close together, and not waiting over a two years like me.

  3. I’m happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed this one! It’s always nice to hear people liked books that you didn’t yourself because you know they saw something in the series that you didn’t! I for one just wasn’t a fan of this series from the start but kept reading out of curiosity! This book was a major downer for me and the ending did not leave me satisfied at all! I did end up reading the epilogue and liked that quite a bit but alas this story just wasn’t meant for me.

    • It’s interesting how different people respond differently to the same books. It’s too bad you didn’t enjoy these, I can see how they’re not for everyone though. I’m weird in the fact that I like vague endings like that more than the “and they lived happily ever after” type. Thanks for commenting and sharing your thoughts on the series! 🙂

  4. I luuuurved this series too and had the same problem with the big gap between book two and three. It didn’t provide much backstory. This is one of those that you need to reread beforehand, or read them all together. I thought it ended pretty well too, I seen the early reviews and dreaded reading it. Thrilled you enjoyed it as much as I did. Awesome review.

  5. Oh it’s nice to see that this one is without a love triangle! Thank you for me too. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one and it sounds like a great series. It’s been translated into my language so I might try and find them. Great review 🙂

  6. I didn’t know there was an epilogue in the paperback. Guess I’ll be heading to the bookstore to read that as well! I was a bit disappointed in the end. If I remember correctly, it seems like I just wanted a little more, it ended a bit too soon. I did really enjoy this series though!

  7. I read the first book in the series a little while ago and found it pretty decent, but for some reason I never had the motivation to read on. I’m glad Eve’s journey is well-done though! Thanks for sharing, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! ❤

  8. I read both book one and two, although it has been awhile. I liked the first book a lot, the second was decent, but things went in a different direction than I was hoping. The first book was worth it if for no other reason than that great selfless love that was given to Eve. Amazing.
    Thanks for your great review.
    New RSS follower.
    -Flirting with Fiction

  9. I remember hearing the first book in this series wasn’t very good (or the heroine was actually sort of annoying) so I never paid much attention to this series. That’s interesting that the author actually wrote an epilogue because people weren’t pleased with the ending. That would make me nervous too. Glad you liked the ending as it was, though.

  10. I’m so happy you enjoyed this one because I ended up a little disappointed after Once. Anyway, I really want to read this one, and again, I’m happy you liked the ending! I was nervous about it and wasn’t sure of buying the hardcover or paperback.
    Thanks for your review! Happy reading!

I'd love to hear from you!

