Review: The Murmurings by Carly Anne West

MurmuringsReview-01

GoodreadsButton

12 thoughts on “Review: The Murmurings by Carly Anne West

  1. Oh crap. Haha (: ~ That’s the first thing I thought when I read the first sentence of your review because mysterious death of a sister – I’ve seen that done before really well. And there was a mental institution setting involved… how can you mess that up?

    There are a lot of movies out there when I know that the characters shouldn’t split up or they do something as stupid that ends up getting people killed – that sounds like Sophie and her family. If you make a few mistakes okay but if you keep making them you are a lousy protagonist. I wouldn’t have been able to put up with that either.

    Um… the whole staff turning a blind eye actually makes sense. There are a lot of people out there who do that. They ignore the situation so they feel less guilty about it.

    Too bad this sucked but great review nonetheless (:

    • I like your comparison to movies. This is definitely like one of those horror movies when the girl wanders into the woods alone or something else stupid and your like NO!!! WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU DOING?!? You’re right, I think a lot of people do turn a blind eye to feel less guilty about things. It’s just something I had a hard time wrapping my head around. I can’t imagine turning a blind eye to somebody being mistreated like that.

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment =)

  2. Aw, great review sweetie. I’m sorry you didn’t like this book :\ I have had it for years, it seems. Not sure if I wish to read it or not, lol :p what you say sounds like it would annoy me as well. Sigh. Thank you for being honest. ❤

  3. I have heard such amazing thinks for this book and honestly I expected it to be dark and tough read so to hear it was flat is really disappointing. I’m really sorry you were disappointed. Great review 🙂

  4. Oh, oh, this sounds horrifically disappointing. :(( And I was kind of excited after seeing that awesomely creepy cover. But nope, not liking the sound of the stupid decisions the character makes. (Gah! What is it with brainless characters, right?!!)

    • The positively creepy & awesome cover is what drew me to this one in the first place. Sadly, there were just too many stupid characters and decisions inside. Seriously! who likes reading about brainless characters? Nobody.

  5. Ugh! Characters making bad/stupid decisions again and again is THE WORST. This one looks creepy and in creepy books and movies characters usually don’t make the greatest decisions, but still. There’s a limit to stupidity, I believe. Once a character passes it, it’s hard to care whether they live or die.

    • Exactly! There is definitely a line. By the end I honestly didn’t care whether Sophie made it out of her predicament or not. I lost all respect and sympathy for her pretty early on.

  6. The blurb sounds fantastic, I love thrillers like these, especially YA ones! But, Sophie’s decisions remind me of Pretty Little Liars and how the girls continue to walk alone in dark woods, even though they always end up attacked!

I'd love to hear from you!

