Haunted Week: Day 6

{This Girl Reads}

October 29th – Tricked or Treated
Some books aren’t at all what you expected—which can be good or bad. Today feature five books you read that were either a pleasant or nasty surprise.

Pleasant Surprise:

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
My first experience with fallen angel books wasn’t a pleasant one so even though this series was on the New York Times Bestseller list I steered clear of them. Then one day I finally caved and decided to give it a try, and guess what? I LOVED IT!!

The Selection by Kiera Cass
I really knew nothing about this book going into it, except that it was dystopian, had a gorgeous cover, and there was a lot of hype about it in the blogosphere. 
I read it, I loved it, I can’t wait for the next! 

Starters by Lissa Price
I had been seeing a lot of not so great reviews for this book, which dropped my expectations, but I still wanted to read it.  I’m so glad I did because I stinkin loved this book! 
Nasty Surprise:
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Gorgeous cover = lots of online hype.
This one just didn’t live up to it for me. It was strange, Mara was crazy, there is random violence and Noah was a jerk.

Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols
Another book surrounded by a lot of hype (gorgeous covers tend to do that.) This didn’t sound like my normal type of read but I wanted to read it anyways because everyone was talking about how much they liked it. I guess I should have stuck with my gut because this absolutely wasn’t for me. The main character drove me crazy and the romance was just messed up.
What are some books that surprised you?
4 thoughts on “Haunted Week: Day 6

  1. Awe, that's too bad about The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer—you can't get much prettier than that cover! But I've been hearing not so great reviews for it. :/

    That's a relief for The Selection! Maybe it'll be enough to restore my faith in beautifully-covered books. 😉

I'd love to hear from you!

