Wordlover Wednesday: Gardyloo

wordloverwednesday
I will be shocked if anyone has heard this word before. I would never have thought there was an actual word for this. But hey, you learn something new everyday. Todays wordlover word is…
 
Gardyloo(gar-de-lu)
Interjection- A warning shouted before throwing water from above
Derived from- French gare de l’eau, meaning “beware of the water” referring to the water and slops that were once thrown by servants from higher stories of a building onto the street.
 
Now I’m curious… 
how many of you already new gardyloo? 
6 thoughts on “Wordlover Wednesday: Gardyloo

  1. What a neat word and also what it means. I've been enjoying your blog for some time now but could never post a comment. Thank you and God bless. Vijaya

  2. Patricia- Ooo, you just gave me an idea! What if I post a word and have people try and guess the definition? That could be fun, and funny =)

    Vijaya- Thanks so much! I'm glad you've enjoyed it =)

I'd love to hear from you!

